Athena

18 Jul

So when I sign up for races, I usually sign up in my respective “age group” division. I figure it’s my only option, as being that I’m certainly not elite and the idea of being an “Athena” or heavy-weight athlete didn’t seem to be something I’d qualify for… even though I could definitely be pretty competitive in that division. With that in mind, I decided to click around and see what constituted the Athena status for a race I was looking at.

“Female participants weighing more than 140 pounds can compete for the Lady Athena title”

140 pounds is a heavyweight!?! Say what? As being that my normal weight fluctuates between 138 & 142, I’d venture to say that I could compete for the Lady Athena title if I ate a big dinner the night before the race. Personally, I find this hilarious. I’m 5’5″ and I have a lot of muscle on me, but by no means am I a “heavy-weight” athlete.

Tomorrow, I think I’ll elaborate on why I think women’s fixation on weight is ridiculous – but for today, let me just say that I’m 140 and if that makes me a heavy-weight, then I’m damn proud bitches.

Today’s Work-Out: Spin + Lift

  • Warm-up
  • 5 minutes of seated climb – adding resistance every 30 seconds until you can’t pedal anymore – then come up to a stand and continue to add every 30 seconds
  • 2 min each x [seated climb, standing run, jumps]
  • 2 x 1:00 sprint with 30 seconds standing run (active recovery) in between
  • Recovery
  • 2 x 1:00 sprint with 30 seconds standing run (active recovery) in between
  • 2 min each x [jumps, standing run, seated climb]
  • Intervals – 1:00 each x [sprint, seated climb, standing run, standing climb, jumps] followed by the same set at 1:15.
  • Cool-down
  • Total: 15 miles
Have a fabulous week everyone!
15 Responses to “Athena”

  1. Tara July 18, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I didn’t even know they had an “Athena” division. Does that weight apply to all heights? I mean that isn’t heavy weight even for a 5’5″ person, but for people even taller it’s considered a low weight! I like your attitude. You are super strong and should be proud of that!

    • Jessica Rose July 18, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      I think it’s more common in triathlons – but no, there is no height differentiation, isn’t that ridiculous!?!? Especially for taller girls that really should weigh 140+ to be “normal” let alone “Athena” weight. Pssh. Thanks for your compliments though – you’re amazing 🙂

  2. maranierae July 18, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    I had no idea what an Athena was until I read this either. Ha, way for these people to promote distorted body perception among women. I am well aware that this is hardly their intention, but you are entirely correct- you are the farthest thing from heavyweight and the fact that you qualify makes me laugh. That being said, you should probably compete in this division as you would likely kick ass competing against all others who aren’t 140 lbs. of fitness and muscle. Cheers!

    • Jessica Rose July 19, 2011 at 8:45 am #

      Yeah… I pretty much cracked up when I read the weight requirements. What a joke. Anyways – we need to run a race together soon!!

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 19, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Hrmm that is kind of annoying for me to read, as I am right around that weight…but I am 5’10” so now I can be considered a heavy weight? Grrr. I didn’t even know they had this as an option to sign up for!
    Oh and great workout you got there, I love the combination of sprints and different positions, helps to make the time go by faster

    • Jessica Rose July 19, 2011 at 8:42 am #

      I really hope this post doesn’t upset you! It’s pretty obvious that neither of us are “heavy-weight” by any means – the fact that you could be 5’0″ or 6’0″ and still get lumped into the same weight class is obviously ridiculous. (140 & 5’0″ = heavy-weight. 140 & 6’0″ = under-weight) But with that said, you could CRUSH the competition if you signed up for this division. That would be awesome. You’d be a lean, mean, 5’10” machine! haha

      • Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 19, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

        Oh no not to worry this didn’t upset me! I know that you are just trying to say how ridiculous this all is and I agree! Thank you for this informative post lady 🙂 And again, certainly not offended!

  4. Tiff July 19, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    I love spin – such great cardio! As for the “Lady Athena” stuff – why would there be weight categories for a race? I don’t understand the reasoning there. Also, what’s with that cut-off line. If you’re 140, you should do well because you have an athletic build. WTF???

    • Jessica Rose July 19, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      I think that the idea of a “Lady Athena” could be cool if it were for legitimately large athletes (think a 200-lb woman trying to complete her first triathlon) because it would create a division in which these athletes weren’t competing against a bunch of skinny 24 year-olds or something. But just lumping all women into a 140lb+ category is stupid, I completely agree.

  5. er July 19, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I am 5’11 and if I was under 140 I would look sickly! Do they want runners that have zero muscle? Outrageous! Competing in sports is supposed to build confidence, not make women self-conscious about their bodies.

    • Jessica Rose July 19, 2011 at 11:36 am #

      I feel like I should contact this organization and ask what their angle is here… I said in my previous comment that it would be cool to have a division for legitimately large women – but there’s no way that at 5’11” you should be 140 pounds. I definitely opened a can of worms with this post…

      • er July 19, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

        I think it was a good post to have! I’d love to hear what the organization’s angle was- maybe it was something we wouldn’t have expected? I’ve never seen a weight class for a race before. Plus, you could have one 5’5 runner at 130, and one at 160 and it wouldn’t mean that the runner who weighed less was faster. Speed is a funny thing lol.

  6. In Sweetness and In Health July 19, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Wow, that’s considered a heavyweight?? I think that’s kind of awful! I would definitely not think of you as that! Anyway, your workout looks awesome! 🙂

    • Jessica Rose July 19, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      I think it’s pretty amusing. Oh well. But yeah – my spin instructors are amazing. I wish everyone could come to class with me. ha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scales are Useless | For the Fun of Fit - July 19, 2011

    […] For the Fun of Fit Swim. Bike. Run. Blog. Skip to content HomeAbout MeBlogrollRacesWedding ← Athena […]

Leave a Reply

