Playing Catch Up

14 Jul

After my long hiatus from the blog world, I’ve decided to check in today & play catch up.

1. Weekend Re-cap: Parents Visit

See,  my parents are probably the best parents in the entire world, so anytime I get to see them, I’m a very happy daughter. I also love when they visit because it gives me an excuse to do something new & exciting, or to actually go into the city. We did all of the above this past weekend.

First up: We went to a local farm and picked our own fresh blueberries. I’ve never picked my own fruit before – but I’ve been dying to go here and try it. It was awesome. I’ve never seen so many blueberries in my life. We ended up picking 4 pounds of berries. And since they’re straight off the vine, they tasted perfect. Nothing like a perfect blueberry (or 4 pounds of perfect blueberries)





Next up, we ventured into the city to see some of the historical sights. My dad had never been in Philadelphia before, and thoroughly enjoyed “people watching” – oh he also enjoyed his cheese-steak.



We stopped at a bar on South Street… where I discovered my new favorite beer.

Overall, we had a great time just wandering around, seeing the sights, enjoying food, drink, and the company. I wish weekends would last forever.

2. I finally gave in & bought New Rules of Lifting for Women

Since Steve had gift cards to Barnes & Nobles that he’s been neglecting for the past 4 years, I decided to steal them for myself and buy this book that’s taking over the blog world. (Check out Tara’s, Kelly’s, Meghann’s or Christy’s blogs for evidence), and  I’m already fascinated. I actually got off to a late start this morning because I couldn’t put it down. I think I’m going to take some “before” photos & post them right before I start this program. I better look like a damn goddess when it’s over.

3. My life is chaotic.

I wanted to briefly elaborate on my last post about being MIA and trying to get my life in order… but I don’t want to be too specific because there’s no use in making plans that don’t end up working out. Here’s some insight. My fabulous husband is currently in a role that will eventually require us to move. Where to? No idea. When? Eventually. I’m totally on-board with moving, especially because I hate the cold and I hate snow and I want to move south at some point in my life. With that said, I know that I also want to go back to school at some point. This would be easy enough since I’ve already taken my GRE’s and I’ve done enough research to know what courses are required for the degree I’m seeking. However, it would be incredibly pointless for me to apply to schools, start classes, and then have to move either mid-semester or just in the middle of the program. I don’t want to deal with transferring credits or dropping out or any of that jazz. So I have no idea what to do.

4. Working out keeps me sane.

Even though I haven’t blogged about it, I’ve been keeping up with my work-outs. Everyone has their own coping mechanism for stress… luckily mine is exercise. I think I’d legit go insane without working out. 

  • Saturday: Spin + Lift
  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: Spin + Lift
  • Tuesday: Rest (aka Work owned my life)
  • Wednesday: 5 mile run + Lift
  • Today: I’m hopeful on another 4-6 mile run after work
Lastly, thanks to everyone who reads my blog / leaves comments / keeps me motivated. It means a lot to me!
How do you deal with stress?
Have you given in to the ‘New Rules of Lifting for Women’ craze / Have you seen results?

4 Responses to “Playing Catch Up”

  1. Tara July 14, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    wow I would be stressed if i were you! I can’t wait to move out of this area.. the weather sucks. One more year for me! I hope you find out soon what is going on with that. i would hate to be so clueless about where i’ll be (though really i have no idea where i’m moving either!). It’s also pretty annoying that you have to put going back to school on hold. Transferring would probably be a mess!

    NROLFW = awesome. thanks for the shoutout!

    • Jessica Rose July 15, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      I’m trying to not stress out too bad. There’s no point in stressing things we have no control over, right!? Hopefully sometime soon I’ll have a post about what I’m actually doing with my life. ha But I agree on the weather. We need to peace out. ha

  2. ittybitsofbalance July 15, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    The New Rules of Weightlifting for women seems like a great book! I’ve seen some awesome results around the blog world as well– best of luck to you on the program!
    When I’m stressed I usually workout, until that became too much of an addiction for me to handle.. haha
    Now I usually look up new recipes or bake– something to distract myself 😉 (Quite the dangerous substitution, I know… 😉 )

    • Jessica Rose July 17, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      I’m hoping to have some awesome results. I mean the cover tells me I’ll look like a goddess… ha
      And I think new recipes might be another great solution to stress. ha I’ve found that it’s less dangerous if you bring your creations into work (or school or where-ever) – so it’s not too dangerous, right!?!

Leave a comment