Countdown To My 1st Tri

7 Jul

Today marks ONE MONTH until my very first TRIATHLON!

Sorry about all the caps locks – I’m just super excited / nervous / pumped / scared / ready to kick ass / all of the above. If you’ve known me for a while, then you’re aware that I’ve been wanting to do a triathlon for years. I seriously considered joining the Tri Club at Penn State, and I’d always look for triathlons to compete in… I just never followed through with any of it. I think I was just too nervous – which is really weird because I’ve been a competitive runner & swimmer for years now, and I rode my bike everywhere in college, so by all means – I can physically do a triathlon. No problem. I’m physically fit and I have no doubt that I could go out today and swim .5 miles, bike 15.7 miles, and run 3.1 miles with no issues what-so-ever. It’s all the logistical stuff that totally psyched me out.

Reasons I was too nervous to sign up for Β Tri

  • I don’t know what to wear. Seriously – do I need a wetsuit? Do I need a special tri suit? Can I just wear a sports bra & bike shorts? And not to over-share, but I need some extra support up top, so a bathing suit top isn’t going to cut it for the run.
  • I needed a road bike. Well I finally have one now – and I love it. But it’s a big investment that I just didn’t have the money to make when i was a poor college student.
  • How do I get everything where it needs to be? My first tri is in downtown Philadelphia. I’m going to have to drive my bike down there at like 4am and try to find somewhere to park & figure it all out & I’m just envisioning insanity.
  • I’m afraid I’ll be blown away by the pro’s. Well on one hand, the actually professional triathletes should beat me. That’s why they’re professionals. But for experienced triathletes, I know they’ll intimidate me with their $5000 bikes & aerodynamic helmets & super sleek wetsuits… Ich.
Anyways – it’s time to stop making excuses and go for it. I’m competing in the Philadelphia SheRox Sprint Tri – a women’s only triathlon with the aim of empowering women. So I’m going to go, feel all empowered, and hopefully walk away knowing more for my next triathlon. (There will be more, including a Half IronMan… and eventually a full IronMan). I know I’ll figure out all of the logistical stuff as I go – and it won’t be nearly as overwhelming as I’m envisioning!
Since I was all excited about how soon my tri is, I decided to do a Brick work-out yesterday to see how I felt.

Wednesday’s Work-Out: Lift, Spin, Run

  • Lift upper body – mainly biceps & triceps
  • 60 min Spin
    • Warm-up
    • 15 minutes of varying combinations of seated climbs, standing runs, and hover for 1-2 minutes each, adding resistance every minute. (I can’t remember the sequence but it definitely got my heart rate going)
    • 4x [30 sec of jumps, 15 sec rest]
    • 2x [30 sec sprint, 15 sec rest, 30 sec jumps, 15 sec rest]
    • 45 sec each x [seated climb, standing run, hover, jumps]
    • 1:00 each x [sprint, seated climb, standing run, hover, jumps]
    • Cool-down
  • Run 3.1 miles on the treadmill (27:00, 8:42 min/mile average)
    • It was entirely too hot for running outside.

Surprisingly, I felt pretty good throughout my entire work-out. I’d obviously like to run a lot faster on race day, but I’ll have adrenaline on my side then.

Do you have any races that you’re really looking forward to?

Do you ever psych yourself out before a race?

11 Responses to “Countdown To My 1st Tri”

  1. Amanda July 7, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Sooooo excited you are doing a tri. You will be completely hooked after one. I know that for sure! Can’t wait to hear all about how amazing you do/how much you are in love with them!

    • Jessica Rose July 7, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      πŸ™‚ Yay I wish we could do one together! But yeah, I hear they’re addicting – and in one month, you’ll have the full run-down!!

  2. Tara July 7, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    You are going to do so awesome!!! Triathletes are the coolest since they do EVERYTHING. I think I have the endurance to do it, however I’d definitely have to practice swimming a lot more and get a road bike! I always thought about joining a triathlon club in college if cross country and track don’t work for me — either way, I definitely will compete in one at some point in my life! I can’t wait to see how yours goes. Reading the recaps always makes me want to go out and try a tri.

  3. April @AdventureApril July 7, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Aah, that’s fantastic! Good luck! Kudos on finally taking the plunge and doing one. I think the clothing options are perplexing, too, haha.

    I plan on doing a tri this spring–but for now, I’m most looking forward to my first half-marathon in Februrary! (It’s the Disney Princess one.) So. Excited.

    • Jessica Rose July 7, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      Jealous!!! I would LOVE to do the Disney Princess half-marathon. My first half was such an awesome experience – you’ll love it. And if I figure out what to wear in my tri, I’ll let you know haha

  4. In Sweetness and In Health July 7, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    That is so awesome! Good for you! You’ll totally kick-ass and I love that the tri has the aim of empowering women πŸ™‚

    • Jessica Rose July 7, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

      Thanks! I think that’s why I picked this one to be my first. I feel like even if I don’t do as well as I hope to – I’ll still be surrounded by a lot of supportive women, so it makes it better!

  5. Er July 7, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    That is so awesome- I am sure you are going to do great! I got like a thousand emails about that race since I am in the Philly area lol. I would love to do a tri but open water lake or river swims gross me out so much I don’t know that I could get over it. I would only be able to do it if the swim was in a pool or the ocean!

    • Jessica Rose July 7, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

      Yeah… I can’t say I’m thrilled about swimming in the Schuylkill. I better not run into any dead bodies or anything. ha But I’d love to find a tri that had its swim portion in the ocean – that would be awesome.

  6. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 7, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    You are going to do fantastically! You are warned though, after you finish this one, the addiction to triathlons will take over πŸ™‚
    After I completed my first one, I finished three more that summer, and have done a few more since then, even an Olympic distance one!

    • Jessica Rose July 8, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      I keep hearing its addicting – I hope I love it as much as everyone else! I really want to try longer distance ones too – I’m not what you would call a sprinter, so I think I might actually do better with longer ones. Congrats on completing so many!

Leave a Reply

