Married Life

28 Jun

Apparently people have some really big misconceptions about married life. No worries. I’m here to set the record straight.

Misconception #1:  As soon as you get married, you’re going to start poppin’ out babies the next day.

  • Seriously, you don’t need to plan my baby shower as soon as you take down the wedding decorations people. I’m 23. Do I look like I want to lug around a baby inside of me for the next 9 months? No. I want to run a marathon in 9 months. Do I look like I want to give up alcohol for 9 months? I don’t think I’m currently able to live without wine for 9 days. Do you think my biological clock is going to run out tomorrow? I don’t. So if you have the urge to hold a newborn baby and pinch its cheeks and make weird baby noises, YOU can get pregnant and have a child all of your own! (No offense to any moms or moms-to-be out there. It’s just not the time for babies in my life)

Misconception #2: All of the sudden, your favorite new hobby is “married couple things” with your new husband.

  • I’m still trying to figure out what “married couple things” are. Do you think Steve and I now enjoy staying in, eating popcorn, and watching romantic comedies on DVD every weekend?  Or is it that you think we magically found a whole brigade of other married couples that we sit around and play Scattegories with? I’m really not sure. Either way, I can assure you that much like before we got married, we still like going out with friends – regardless of their relationship status.

Misconception #3: You want to bring your husband everywhere.

  • People assume that because I got married, Steve & I must be attached at the hip. That’s a cute assumption, but let’s face it – I spend more time with him than anyone else on the planet now. I think we’ll both live if we do our own separate things for a while. We fell in love because we were two separate people with separate lives to share with each other. If we did everything together, what would we talk about? To be honest, I would LOVE a girls night. Somehow talking to Steve about gossip just isn’t as fun as it is with the girls! So don’t count me out. I won’t bring him, I swear!

So for anyone who wants to ask me “How’s married life!?” don’t expect that it’s much different than engaged life / dating life. My name might be different, but I’m still the same person. Just sayin’.

With that said, I had a solo work-out this evening.

Tuesday Work-out:  RUN

  • 1:00:09 Run – Approx. 6.65 miles – About 9:00 min/mile
  • I decided to do a time goal today instead of a distance goal. I felt pretty strong until about 45 minutes in when I started getting a tight pain in my right leg. (Right along the outside of my hip… any thoughts?)
  • I’m glad I decided to run on a trail because there was A LOT of shade, which was pretty necessary with the heat today. Plus it was a nice change of scenery.
  • My biggest problem with the trail is that my GPS loses signal under the trees so I have no idea if my distance is accurate. Grr.
  • The fact that the last 15 minutes were a struggle just reminds me that I need to get out for some longer runs. Especially with my half-marathon this fall.

14 Responses to “Married Life”

  1. In Sweetness and In Health June 28, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    I love this! I’m not married, but I know that I won’t be changed by getting married. Love the pic with the corona 🙂

    • Jessica Rose June 29, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks! – that Corona marked the start of my honeymoon… makes me love that picture even more. ha

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 28, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    This is great – sometimes I’d love a girls night too! Wish we lived closer!

    • Jessica Rose June 29, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      I know right. I’m still upset that you’ll be in Philly for HLS and I’ll be gone. That’s going to be the ultimate girls weekend.

  3. Tara June 29, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Very good points! I don’t think anyone could possibly spend that much time together and still enjoy each others company after so long. Sometimes the best part of a relationship is finally getting to spend some time together after having just enough time apart — not too much, not too little. You still have to live your own life!

    • Jessica Rose June 29, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      100% agreed. Definitely true for all relationships – not just marriages. I can’t have someone crampin’ my style 😉

  4. ihearteggs June 29, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I love number one… I remember when I was (much) younger a friend of the family got married and like 6 months later we saw them and in my young and stupid big mouth ways was like “why dont you have a baby now? You’re married?!” ahaha um no.

    • Jessica Rose June 29, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      haha It’s so funny how people relate babies & marriage, especially young kids! They have so much to learn… ha

  5. Er June 29, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Totally agree with everything in this post! I’m not going to be married till next June but I know I will be the same way. I have friends that need to ask their boyfriends for permission before they do anything wtihout them. Really? I think have our separate time makes up happier and gives us SO much more to talk about! It is important to have time together and time with friends, and both me and my fiance feel strongly about that.

    • Jessica Rose June 29, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      Congrats on your upcoming marriage! I can’t stand when girls need to ask permission to go out, I want to tell them how horribly unhealthy their relationships are. Ugh. I’ve always felt really strongly about time with friends too. It’s a necessity!

  6. foodsweatandbeers July 1, 2011 at 5:36 am #

    Hahaha, this was a hilarious post (especially the part about popping babies out. ridiculous people tryna sprout little ones the second they get married, no way jose!)

    It’s great to see someone who’s just doing their own thing, enjoying being married to someone they love but not changing their entire outlook on life because of it. Wouldn’t that defeat the whole purpose of getting married (i.e. joining two individual lives together?)

    top notch/very funny.

    • Jessica Rose July 1, 2011 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks – I try to keep my daily dose of sarcasm amusing. Although I do like your take on “ridiculous people tryna sprout little ones” haha But yeah – I think most people keep their own outlook when they get married, their friends just change theirs. It’s a strange phenomenon.

  7. pursuitofhealthfulness October 12, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Amen, sister! I think it’s hilarious that people thought my husband and I were getting married “too young,” but now that we are they wonder when we’ll have kids! Uh, hello?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Don’t Read Your Blog | For the Fun of Fit - July 28, 2011

    […] organic baby diapers you found. This is probably because I’m not at that point in my life [As I mentioned here…] and pretty much can’t relate to your hormonal life […]

Leave a Reply

