Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

26 Jun

Hopefully you all had a great weekend! I can’t complain too much about mine, except for the 23082345 things I want to get done before tonight. It happens. Anyways – here’s a quick re-cap!

I jump-started my weekend with an early morning spin class on Saturday.

Spin

  • Warm-up
  • 2x [2 minutes seated climb**, 2 minutes standing climb**, 2 minutes jumps**, 1 minute sprint, 30 seconds standing run recovery, 1 minute sprint, 30 second rest]
  • 2 minutes seated climb**, 30 second push, 1 minute seated climb, 30 second push, 30 second seated climb, 30 second push, 1 minute rest
  • 2 minutes jumps, 2 minutes seated climb**, 2 minutes standing climb** , 30 second push, 2 minutes standing climb, 2 minutes seated climb, 2 minute standing run
  • Cool-down
  • [** – Add resistance every minute]

And then I headed out to the pool for some sun & relaxation… and reading. I’ve been wanting to read ‘The Jungle’ by Upton Sinclair for a long time, so I finally had the time to get through about the 1st 10 chapters. 

First of all, so far I love it – in one of those ‘this-is-incredibly-disturbing’ kind of ways.  If you don’t know already, this book follows a Lithuanian family trying to make their way in America by working in the stockyards of Chicago in the early 1900’s. This book also inspired the 1906  Pure Food and Drug Act and the Meat Inspection Act. Needless to say – it’s gruesome and disgusting. If you’ve ever considered a vegetarian diet, but needed some extra inspiration – read this book. I’ve never been so glad that I don’t eat meat. (Conversely, if you eat meat, at least you know now that there are strict rules on the cleanliness of your meat?) Even aside from the whole meat-eating aspect, it’s a really emotional story involving the working class of early America, immigration, political corruption, and lots of history. In short- go read it.

In other news, you should probably also make these cupcakes ASAP.

Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

  • 1.5c self-rising flour
  • 4 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1c powdered sugar
  • 1c (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp. mint extract
  • 0.5c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325° – Sift together flour, cocoa powder & baking powder in a medium bowl – Beat sugar & butter in a separate large bowl until smooth – Add eggs 1 at a time beating well – Slowly add flour mixture & stir until well combined – Stir in mint extract & chocolate chips – Spoon mixture into cupcake liners & bake for 18-20 min.

 

Oh and buy one of these Kitchenaid mixtures. It’s life-altering. Never mind that they cost ~ $300.

Mint Frosting

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. mint extract
  • Green food coloring
  • Chocolate chips

Beat butter & sugar until smooth & creamy – Stir in mint extract & enough green food coloring to tint the frosting to a mint green color – Spread on cooled cupcakes & top with chocolate chips!

SHARE & enjoy. (No one needs 18 cupcakes to themselves)

Speaking of sharing… I should probably share my findings at the Pepperidge Farms outlet shop.

Was it necessary for me to buy 6 boxes of Milano’s? Probably not. But they were cheap… and I’m obsessed.

Anyways – I have a lot to catch up on before the week starts (and I’ll hopefully fit in a run when it cools off this evening) so have a delightful Sunday evening!

5 Responses to “Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes”

  1. Tara June 26, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Those cupcakes are too cute! I’ve been obsessed with cupcakes lately. I used to think I hated them, but I got one from an amazing cupcake shop and now I’m determined to find the best recipe ever!

    We learned about the Jungle in American History last year and I was instantly intrigued by it. It’s crazy how the meat industry was screwed 100 years ago, and even though it’s better for us now, it’s still got its kinks to work out.

    • Jessica Rose June 26, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      Hating cupcakes!? Blasphemy! I’m obsessed. ha As much as I liked these, my all-time favorites are still my banana chocolate chip cupcakes. So amazing.

  2. In Sweetness and In Health June 26, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Those cupcakes look awesome :). And that spinning workout sounds hard! Good for you!

  3. Ali June 27, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Those cupcakes sound amazing! I love anything mint chocolate chip! 🙂

    • Jessica Rose June 27, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      Agreed. And I feel like mint is really refreshing in the summer –

Leave a Reply

