Flashback Friday: Wedding Edtion

24 Jun

Since I didn’t have a blog leading up to my wedding – I thought it would be fun to “re-live” all the planning and details here. I’m going to establish Flashback Fridays from here on out. It’s probably best that I didn’t have a blog during all of my wedding planning because there would have been a lot of posts about eloping, skipping all the planning, and not wanting to do anything wedding related ever again. So – I’ll take a less stressed out, happier approach to my wedding here πŸ™‚

Colors & Dresses!

So pretty much as soon as I got engaged, two of my best friends were already planning a trip to David’s Bridal for me to try on wedding dresses and for them to try out some bridesmaids dresses. Even though we weren’t actually getting married until a year and a half after we got engaged, how could I say no? So I went into David’s Bridal with a few assumptions…

  1. I wanted my wedding color to be baby blue (think UNC Tarheels)
  2. I wanted a simple, light-weight, frills-free halter wedding dress (Like the one below)

My advice: Don’t bother making assumptions – you’ll definitely change your mind.

What actually happened:At David’s Bridal, bridesmaids dresses come in a variety of colors, but chances are that the dress you like in the size you need won’t come in your dream color. So you try on whatever color happens to come in your size.



So no one tried on baby blue… but it didn’t matter. I thought that the royal blue was such a gorgeous color that I didn’t even want to look at other options. Plus, all of my bridesmaids looked pretty awesome in such a bold color. Assumption 1 = Fail.When it came to bridesmaids dresses, I only wanted a few things. I wanted floor-length dresses because we got married in January – it was going to be freezing. I also wanted everyone to match. Otherwise, I really didn’t want to dictate what they chose because they had to wear it – not me. I tried to get most of my bridesmaids to look at dresses at the same time so they could make a group decision – and it worked out pretty well I think! (If anyone of them hated their dresses, they haven’t told me yet)

Here’s what we ended up deciding on πŸ™‚

Beautiful.

2. I ended up trying on the dress that I had been eyeing up on-line forever. (You know, the one, what I always envisioned, what I always wanted… etc). Holy not-at-all-what-I-was-expecting. I looked like a prostitute. Obviously the dress of my dreams was designed for a flat-chested girl. I was hanging out of that dress like Janet Jackson at the Super Bowl. It was bad. Assumption 2 = Fail. I tried on a whole bunch of other dresses – and let my friends pick some out for me too.

Tip: Bring honest friends when you shop for dresses. Mine told me flat-out that some dresses were ugly on me and I appreciate it.

Anyways – so they pick out this extravagant beaded strapless gown and bring it to me to try on. I tried it on just to appease them. There was no way I was into beads and lace and “fru-fru”

I was wrong… again. Despite having never worn anything like this before in my life, I loved it! It really made me feel like a snow princess – which is what I was going for in my winter wedding. I would have never picked out this dress for myself in a million years – but my friends loved it, my mom loved it, my dad loved it – and here’s the BEST part of all …

As my mom was browsing the sales rack – aka the 50% off rack – she saw my dress. (So the chances of it being my size are like 0%, right?) Oh no, it was my size, exactly. Since I was going to buy it anyway – I tried on the dress from the sales rack – sold “as is” and searched all over for any reasons why it was being sold “as is”. To this day, I have no idea and I don’t care. I found MY DRESS for 50% off. Talk about winning. Needless to say, I walked out of the store with my dress and didn’t look back πŸ™‚


Flash forward…

Friday’s work-out: SwimmingΒ 

  • Warm-up: 200 SKIPS [200 Swim, 200 Kick, 200 IM, 200 Pull, 200 Swim]
  • 4x [100 Sprint on 1:30, try to touch by 1:10-1:15 + 200 Pull on 3:00]
  • 200 Swim, 200 Kick, 200 IM, 200 Pull
  • Cool-down: 300 of whatever
  • Total: 3300 yards

Breakfast of Champions

  • Smoothie + Granola
  • Smoothie: frozen banana, vanilla protein powder, cocoa powder, peanut butter, milk, ice

14 Responses to “Flashback Friday: Wedding Edtion”

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 24, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Gorgeous!! πŸ™‚

    I got my dress for $300, ha. It was off the rack like that too – on sale. I could’ve ordered a brand new one for an extra $450, but no way! It was fine as it was!

    • Jessica Rose June 24, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Perfect! I think mine was like $350 in the end. Now alterations were a whole different story… ugh. But yeah – I love watching Say Yes to the Dress and seeing these girls spend $10,000+ on their dress – and knowing we got beautiful gowns for under $500 πŸ™‚

      • Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 26, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

        I know! It’s seriously nuts how much those dresses cost! I was lucky that my mother-in-law is basically a seamstress, so she was able to alter my dress! I had my whole train removed. No one understood that, but I didn’t want to be tripping over it all night! πŸ™‚

      • Jessica Rose June 26, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

        You got your whole train removed!?! ha I loved mine – and thought the bustle was beautiful… but it fell out later in the night (I danced too hard) and now the whole thing is filthy and stepped on – so I guess I see your point ha

  2. Maranie Staab June 24, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Love the post. Love the photos. Such a beautiful, perfect wedding in every way ❀

    • Jessica Rose June 24, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I’m pretty excited to re-live it every Friday for a while

  3. Alicia Zack June 24, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    i think im going to have to start reading all your blogs! they’re great πŸ™‚ … and especially fridays because i’m getting married this january. As for the dress, me = NOT girly girl, and everyone picked this fru fru dress as well. Welp,i loved it and bought it, but never would have picked it just like you! Are you training for something?

    • Jessica Rose June 24, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      I’m glad someone else got a dress they totally didn’t expect. (You’ll have to send me a link!) But yeah- I hope you enjoy my wedding recaps, if you want anything you see, just ask, I’d be more than happy to help out.
      As for training, I have a few races lined up, but I’m most excited for my sprint triathlon in August. One day I want to do an IronMan, but I’ll start with the sprint first…

  4. Tara June 25, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    Ohmygosh, your wedding pictures are beautiful! I bet you have so many more gorgeous pics. I love the dress that you wore and the color scheme. Your hair looks so pretty too!!!

    • Jessica Rose June 25, 2011 at 11:42 am #

      Thanks girl πŸ™‚ I have over 1,000 pictures, so I’m really excited to post some of them over the next couple of weeks. As for my hair – I loved it too, and there’s a funny story behind it for later haha

  5. foodsweatandbeers July 1, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    As a UNC alum, I have to admit, I was pretty stoked when you said you wanted Carolina blue BUTTTTTTTTT I guess you’re right, the duke (blech) blue looks stunning on all your bridesmaids.

    And your dress. OH SO LOVELY! That’s just a sign, it was meant to be! You’re like the ultimate say yes to the dress success story!

    • Jessica Rose July 1, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      haha I never even thought about the bright blue being “Duke” blue. Well if it makes you feel better, I’m still a UNC fan πŸ™‚

  6. Keri July 10, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Wow, beautiful! Love your dress and the bridesmaids dresses! When I went into dress shopping I was extremely against strapless- I wanted anything else and I HATED sweetheart necklines. Guess what I ended up with? I will definitely send you a pic. There are pictures online of a very similar dress but it doesn’t do it justice. I am going back to show my dad the dress I choose and I will ask if I can take a picture in the dress…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flashback Friday: Wedding Flowers | For the Fun of Fit - July 15, 2011

    […] wedding colors were blue, white, and silver. Now think about it – have you seen many blue flowers? […]

Leave a Reply

