Comparing Myself

22 Jun

I’m pleased to announce that I’m significantly less stressed out than I was last week. I even took yesterday off from working out and relaxed by drinking some blueberry wine and watching Unstoppable. (Amazing movie by the way – I didn’t expect it to be nearly as good or suspenseful as it turned out to be. I recommend it!)

Monday Work-out:  Spin & Lift

  • Cycle Fun!
  • Warm-up
  • 1min seated climb, 2 min standing climb, 30 sec sprint, 30 sec rest
  • 1:30 standing climb, 2:30 seated climb, 30 sec sprint, 30 sec rest
  • 2:00 standing climb, 3:00 seated climb, 30 sec sprint, 30 sec rest
  • 2:30 standing climb, 3:30 seated climb, 30 sec sprint, 30 sec rest
  • 3:00 standing climb, 4:00 seated climb, 30 sec sprint, 30 sec rest
  • 2:30 seated climb, 3:30 standing climb, 30 sec sprint, 30 sec rest
  • 2:00 seated climb, 3:00 standing climb, 30 sec sprint, 30 sec rest
  • Cool down & Stretch

Wednesday Work-out: Run, Spin, Lift

  • Run 0.5 miles eliptical
  • Run 1.5 miles treadmill [Increase speed by 0.2 every 0.1 miles, starting at 6.0 MPH]
  • Spin-o-Rama
  • Warm-up
  • 1:00 seated climb, 2:00 standing climb, 2:00 jumps, 30 sec sprint, rest
  • 2:00 seated climb, 3:00 standing climb, 2:00 jumps, 30 sec sprint, rest
  • 2:30 seated climb, 3:30 standing climb, 2:00 jumps, 30 sec sprint, rest
  • 3:00 seated climb, 4:00 standing climb, 2:00 jumps, 30 sec sprint, rest
  • 45 sec each x [sprint, seated climb, standing run, standing climb, jumps]
  • 1:00 each x [sprint, seated climb, standing run, standing climb, jumps]
  • Cool-down & Stretch

Now as for this whole comparison thing. It’s really hard not to compare myself with all of the other bloggers who post race results and work-outs. I know this is ridiculous / pointless / not going to get me anywhere, but I still do it. So here are a few things I know I have to keep in mind whenever I get into these “I suck compared to everyone else” funks.

  1. I’m training for 3 sports with the ultimate goal of a triathlon, so I can’t compare my run times to people who run 6 days a week.
  2. I’m probably not running the same courses as other people. I live in Pennsylvania – there are hills here. Chances are if I lived somewhere flat, I could run faster.
  3. I don’t follow the same training plans so I’m not at the same place in my training as everyone else. If I trained properly with speed work-outs and a pre-race taper, I’m sure I could PR.
  4. I just recently started cycling. I need a lot more practice before I can even start to compare my pace. (I should also probably some of my indoor cycling outdoors…)
  5. And just to pat myself on the back – with my swimming background, I can probably rock 90% of you in the pool 😉 so I always have that to boost my confidence

So I think I’m going to set some personal goals soon – with my #1 goal being to rock my first triathlon on August 7. Woo!

What are your fitness goals right now?

How do you deal with comparing yourself to others?

8 Responses to “Comparing Myself”

  1. Tyler rohrman June 22, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Site is looking really good jess, are there still things you wanted?

    • Jessica Rose June 23, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Thanks Ty! I do like it a lot better now – there’s just a few “widgets” I would add – like a Twitter button and Facebook button. Let me know about the magic you can work. haha

  2. Tiff June 23, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    You’d totally kick my butt in a pool. I’m such a horrible swimmer, but it feels so good to move about in the water (or flail about, in my case)

    • Jessica Rose June 23, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Swimming is a rough sport to get into – but one you start, your times start dropping really fast, so its motivating! Failing about works too – I think I might do some flailing / floating this weekend outside in the pool.

  3. Tara June 23, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    i’m really having a hard time with the comparison trap lately because of my injury. I see other girls getting fast and running far while I’m stuck on the bike and elliptical, afraid that I’m going to be terrible when I get back into it. I know this isn’t true, so i’m trying to use it to motivate me to get back up with them when I’m back out there!

    • Jessica Rose June 23, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      I know what you mean!! I was injured training for my 1/2 marathon last year and would bike around campus and see my friends running and get really discouraged. But the important thing to keep in mind is that by taking time off now, you’ll actually be able to run so much faster than if you injured yourself further or didn’t let it heal at all. You’re a champ – you’ll bounce back!

  4. April @AdventureApril June 23, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    I’m attempting to get in shape for a hiking trip, so I’m trying to focus on upper body strength, where I’m weakest. Unfortunately, it’s summer, which makes me think BIKINI, RUNNING, SWIM ALL THE TIME! and I really have to push myself to get to the gym. I’d much rather run a ton in the morning and swim in the evening than hit the gym.

    How do you deal with comparing yourself to others?
    Coming back from an injury, it’s really hard to see someone speedy and not compare myself to them. I try to be grateful for whatever I can do now, and compare me to what I did yesterday, instead. If I’m doing the same or better, I can continue with a smile on my face.

    • Jessica Rose June 24, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      Well the good thing about strength training is that you build muscle, which burns calories around the clock – so that’s one way to look at it! Plus, you need some sexy toned arms in that bikini too! ha I’m not sure if you live close enough to a gym to run to it – but that would be a good way to combine running and strength training.

      Comparing myself to others is really tough for me – but I guess in the end, it’s important to know that you’re actually out doing something – half of the country probably couldn’t run a single mile – let alone long distance races. I love the idea of comparing yourself to yesterday – that’s a great outlook!

Leave a Reply

