Father’s Day in Ithaca

20 Jun

Happy Father’s Day to all of the Daddies out there 🙂

Especially to my Papa – who taught me that the Steelers are the best team in football, Zeppelin is the best rock band of all-time, and that hard work really does pay off. Thanks Daddy – I love you!

Then

Now

Unfortunately, I spent Father’s Day away from my Daddy – but I made up for it by spending the weekend with my new family, including my new father-in-law, in Ithaca, NY.

I wish I could say that I explored the beautiful nature-esque environment of Ithaca by biking and running through the town – but I took this entire weekend off from working out and eating healthy. Was it a necessary break from my stressful week? Absolutely. Do I feel disgusting today? Indeed. Oh well – I’ve learned that you can’t dwell on these things and feel guilty – you just have to wake up the next morning and jump back into a healthy routine. I may feel like I gained 47 pounds this weekend – but I’m pretty sure that didn’t actually happen. [At least I hope not]  So it’s Monday – I packed a healthy lunch – and I’m ready to head straight to the gym after work for an evening full of spinning and lifting.

So how did I spend my weekend in Ithaca, NY?

I explored some waterfalls

I navigated the waterfalls…

I second-guessed the whole idea of jumping in the waterfalls

And I decided to just go for it

Then we explored some more waterfalls (not for jumping)

I enjoyed a “Chocolate Monkey” at dinner

I discovered all sorts of new foods / drinks (including a ton of vegetarian / vegan options that made me super excited)

And I savored a ginormous authentic Greek falafel pita

How did you spend your Father’s Day weekend!?

6 Responses to “Father’s Day in Ithaca”

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 20, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    The waterfalls look like such a blast! I LOVE the two snow pictures with you dad – seriously adorable. 🙂

    • Jessica Rose June 20, 2011 at 11:39 am #

      The waterfalls were awesome – though they seemed a lot higher than they look now ha.
      And I’m so glad I found an old snowy picture of my daddy & I because the one from my wedding just makes me smile 🙂

  2. Tiff June 20, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    The “then” and “now” pics are adorable! Daddies are awesome! I’m glad I got to see mine this weekend, even if it’ll be a few months until I get to see him again.

    • Jessica Rose June 20, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      Daddies are awesome! 100% Agreed. Jealous you got to see yours – but I’m excited that I have a mini-vacation planned with mine at the end of August 🙂

  3. Michele June 22, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Woser, Looks fun!! I forgot to ask you what all you did and if you had a blast!!! brain dead! Anyway, love your story and the pics, send it to dad! Hugs

    • Jessica Rose June 23, 2011 at 7:51 am #

      Well I’m glad my little blog could keep you updated! ha I’m going to add more pictures to Facebook too – but yeah, Ithaca was fun! And I’ll definitely send this to Dad 🙂

Leave a Reply

