Disturbingly Interesting

14 Jun

[Sorry I fell behind in blogging this weekend / today. I’ve been crazy busy – but here’s a weekend recap for good measure ;)]

Having friends visit for the weekend always gives me a reason to explore Philadelphia (since we never seem to do so when it’s just Steve and I).  Lucky for me, one of my best friends from Penn State came down to visit this past weekend!

Dan was pretty excited to have his picture show up on my blog 😉

Since I was having a rough week at work… I decided to take my rest day from any form of working out and make myself some mojitos. Win. When it came time to eat, the boys ordered themselves some pizza (with Mogli’s help of course)…

and I heated up some left-over tofu fajitas. I realize I am subjecting myself to ridicule by posting this – just as much ridicule as I got while actually eating this. Pssh haters – my fajitas were bad-ass.

And just because I didn’t do any formal kind of work-out doesn’t mean I didn’t work up a sweat playing PS3 Sports Champions! haha Seriously, it’s awesome. If you have PS3, get the ‘Move’ package – and then play Bocce and tell me you’re not addicted. Steve prefers Gladiator Duel – but to each his own, eh?

Since I took my rest day Friday – I decided that I needed to drag my lazy self out the door for a run before I went out for the day. There was probably 537% humidity outside, but it wasn’t terrible. I set out to do 4 miles – and then I passed an animal rescue fair that was taking place in a field by the sidewalk I run along. I think it’s safe to say I stopped… and then dragged Steve and Dan back to the fair after I was done and showered.

Saturday’s Workout

  • 4 miles in 34:30 (8:37 min/mile)
Backing up – I am such a sucker when it comes to animals. I love cats. I just want to hug all of them. But that’s crazy – I can’t hug every cat!! (For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about – PLEASE watch this video, you won’t be disappointed. Crazy Cat Lady) Anyways – I’m not psychotic, but I do love animals. Mogli was rescued from the SPCA, and I’ve always wondered if he wanted a little brother or sister. Look at this little kitten that OBVIOUSLY wants to be adopted (by me, preferably)


Tell me that isn’t the cutest thing you’ve ever seen!? Bah. I think my new career option is just volunteering full-time at an animal shelter.
After my detour at the animal rescue fair, we made our way into the City of Brother Love!


After some amazing treats at the Reading Terminal Market (including a vegan chocolate cupcake!), we ventured off to find the Mutter Museum. Their tagline is “Disturbingly Interesting” and they weren’t messing around. I wasn’t allowed to take pictures inside – but imagine a wall full of skulls, a 40lb colon, the skeleton of a giant (7’8″) next to the skeleton of a midget prostitute… and some other insane medical anomalies. If you ever find yourself wandering around Philadelphia and want to see some really effed up medical stuff, you should definitely visit the Mutter Museum. 

And to round things out for the evening, we met up with friends for a few drinks before heading to a surprise birthday party!

Sorry my weekend catch-up was a bit late – but hopefully I get back into a schedule after a few more crazy days at work…

Question: Do you think Mogli needs a little brother? (I really need to decide if I should officially adopt the aforementioned kitten :))

7 Responses to “Disturbingly Interesting”

  1. Tara June 14, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    The kitten is adorable!! I definitely think Mogli needs a brother. We’ve always wanted to get my puppy a sibling, but it has never worked out. We almost got a gray kitten that I planned on naming smoky and I was crushed when we didn’t end up adopting it!

    • Jessica Rose June 15, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Aww – well I’m sure another Smoky will come along one day and you’ll be able to have the kitten you always wanted 🙂

  2. Michele June 15, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    HAHAHA funniest video I ever saw!! What a moron!! MBA my ass, she is disturbing! You can only like cats alot, ok? Still need to check out the museum! Sounds right up my alley!

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 15, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Sounds like a fun weekend, Jess! Not sure I could handle all the medical stuff, but it definitely does sound interesting. 🙂

    I love animals, so I say yes to the cat!

    • Jessica Rose June 15, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      Oh I know – the museum wasn’t my idea and I was pretty disturbed by a lot of it – but I’ll say it was definitely an “experience” haha I think I’ll go to the aquarium on my next adventure

  4. Tiff June 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Looks like a great weekend! I’m a true cat lady too. I’ll have to check out the video when I get home tonight.

    • Jessica Rose June 15, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      The video will definitely cheer you up if you need a pick-me-up after work! ha

Leave a Reply

