My First Group Bike Ride

13 Jun

I finally did my first organized bike ride this weekend! After competing in hundreds of swimming and running races – I finally made the leap into the world of biking… and I love it (so far at least).

It’s also much more intimidating than running races. In running, you can only have so much “official” or “fancy” gear. In biking, you could spend thousands of dollars just to intimidate people. So while I stroll up in my tank top and spandex and $200 road bike, I’m surrounded by people in jerseys with bike shorts, $1,000+ bikes with aero bars and clip-in shoes… Eh – maybe one day I’ll get to that point, but not today.

One of the fun (and by fun, I mean not fun at all) parts about biking in Pennsylvania is all of the freakin’  hills. Damn all you people that blog from Florida and take these leisurely  rides on flat trails near the ocean. My pace on this ride was pathetically slow compared to what it could have been on a flat course, but it forced me to figure out what the devil to do with all of those gears on my bike – and it also definitely gave my legs a good work-out.  I actually got a few laughs out of some riders by yelling “I finally figured out the gears!!” half-way up a huge hill. Gotta keep it entertaining.

This ride was awesome for a number of reasons. First of all, a lot of people from my spin class came out – so I had a few friends on the course. Secondly, the ride had multiple rest stops with amazing food / drinks / mini PB&J sandwiches. And of course, a free lunch at the end.

Most importantly, this wasn’t really a race. It was a go-at-your-own-pace and enjoy your scenery type of ride where everyone was making friends along the course. My kind of ride.

After the ride, Steve and I had to go to the store so that we actually had food in the house to eat. And let me just tell you how much I love Wegman’s. They actually set up displays with recipes and then every ingredient you need to make it. Fish Tacos sounded good to me, so that’s what we had. (Oh, plus some Summer Love from Victory :))

I did my own thing for toppings – and made an Avocado / Mango / Red Onion salsa – which was awesome.

And Steve can’t live without dessert – so I made a double-layer white cake with Cool-Whip topping and fresh fruit.

Weekend Success.

11 Responses to “My First Group Bike Ride”

  1. Tiff June 13, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    That looks like fun! It makes me wish I learned how to ride a bike. ha

    • Jessica Rose June 13, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Well, I mean there were some people there on tandem bikes… just hop on with someone who knows how! haha

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 13, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    Sounds like you did great on your first “race!” 🙂 That cake looks delicious – I’m 100% with Steve on the necessity of dessert!

    • Jessica Rose June 13, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      I totally agree on dessert – and this option was definitely better than my usual date with Milano cookies. haha

  3. Tara June 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Biking intimidates me! I really haven’t gone further than the stationary bike. I really want to try it more though. Good for you for getting out there and “racing”, I feel like a group leisure ride would be a great start!
    Um Wegmans is my true love. I actually just got back from there. I love all the recipe stations and what not!

  4. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas June 13, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Your first race sounds like fun! And PA hills are no joke! I grew up about an hour north of Philly and I swear the hill going into my neighborhood was so steep it was tough to drive up in the rain (forget about the winter!).
    And now I miss Wegmans like woah.

    • Jessica Rose June 13, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Ha I know what you mean! My best friend lived at the top of a mountain growing up. It was impossible in the snow.
      As for Wegman’s- I don’t think I’ll ever be able to live without one! Be strong! Ha

  5. lifttorun June 13, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    The ‘race’ looks like hella fun. I’m sure you dominated it anyway.

    And I love fish tacos!

    • Jessica Rose June 13, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      This race was definitely hella fun 😉 and yeah… I pretty much made those hills my bitch haha

  6. Michele June 15, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Woog, you are funny!! I kinda like this blog thing, you are doing a nice job on photos and writing!!

Leave a Reply

