When I Grow Up

10 Jun

I wanna be famous, I wanna be a star, I wanna be in movies… 

Scratch that, how about I wanna have a job that I don’t hate? I mean, I think that sounds simple enough. So here’s where you come in. I need options as to what to do with my life because what I’m doing isn’t working out. I love health / fitness / science. I’m seriously at a loss for ideas, so if you have a job you love – please tell me what it is and why you love it. Thanks ❤

For perspective: I have a B.S. in Biotechnology and a minor in Microbiology from Penn State. I LOVED learning about these subjects in school, but it didn’t translate into the real world. Real world labs are monotonous, unexciting, and experiments generally fail. So you repeat them (over and over and over and over…) So I moved into a healthcare consulting type of position – which is where I am now – and this is just NOT an environment that I thrive in. It’s also about an hour commute from my home – and I would rather have that time to do something more productive than drive 70 miles. I think I would enjoy a position where I interacted with / helped people and didn’t have to spend so much time in front of a computer. (Unless I’m blogging :))

  • Teacher?
  • RD? (Thanks Anne for your insight!)
  • Personal Trainer?
  • Pharmacist?
The tough thing is my husband has a job he LOVES here in the Philadelphia area, so I’m fairly limited geographically. We also anticipate moving in about a year, so I’m hesitant to go back to school just to find out I have to leave. Lastly, it will be a huge challenge to try to go back to school and not have any income. Unfortunately, Philly isn’t a very affordable city – so we rely on two incomes.

  • This picture totally doesn’t fit in with any of my dialogue, but I was quite impressed with how my nails (and toenails) happened to look cute with my dress… and even match my yogurt. ha [Random]

In other news – I finally dragged my ass out of bed early yesterday to beat the heat and got in an awesome pool workout before 7:30am. I always love getting my work-out in early, but I cannot force myself to wake up at 5:30 every morning… ugh. I’ll work on that.

I beat the sun!

Thursday’s Swim Work-Out

  • 200 SKIPS [200x each Swim, Kick, IM, Pull, Swim]
  • 5 x 200 Pull on 3:00
  • 5 x 100 Swim [Odd: Sprint on the 1:30, try to touch in under 1:15. Even: Easy on 2:00]
  • 100 SKIPS [100x each Swim, Kick, IM, Pull, Swim]
  • Total= 3000 yards in just under an hour
Swim Tip of the Day: If you are going to join a lane where someone is already swimming, just have the common courtesy to alert them first. Most swimmers are willing to share their lane, but it’s nice to know someone else is going to be in your lane, that way you don’t collide into them! (Common sense)

  • Flowers apparently don’t like 100 degree heat

  • Luckily, my flowers don’t care that I’m too lazy to buy a watering can and instead resort to pots…

Luckily today is Friday (Cue Rebecca Black) – and one of my best friends from Penn State is coming down to visit 🙂 And then Sunday is my 32-mile bike ride with a lot of Spin class friends! Bring on the weekend!! (Oh wait, I still have to get through work…)
 

6 Responses to “When I Grow Up”

  1. Tiff June 10, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Sounds like a fun weekend! I wish I had other job ideas for you. I’m not loving my job or my 1+ hr commute right about now either. I’d love to do the RD thing, but I don’t have a good background for that. I bet you could pull it off though with the biology knowledge and healthcare experience. Good luck!

    • Jessica Rose June 10, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Thanks! I started doing a bit of research into RD programs today… we’ll see where it takes me. Hopefully we both find awesome local jobs someday… ha in the meantime, cheers to beers on Friday 🙂

  2. Tara June 10, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I wish I could tell you about my job, but I’m still a student! I’m planning on studying kinesiology and nutrition though. I’m thinking of becoming a sports dietician! I would hate to have that kind of commute AND hate my job, so I hope it works out for you.

    • Jessica Rose June 11, 2011 at 12:00 am #

      If I could go back and do it all again, that is exactly what I would do. I think you’ll be perfect for that field! Can’t wait to see how it works out, you’ll be my inspiration 🙂

  3. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 11, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I feel you on the job thing. I think about it all the time, and I’m definitely still really unsure about what I want to do.

    The commute/job doesn’t sound like fun; I’m sorry! My job isn’t bad and my commute is literally one minute, but it’s still not overly fulfilling!

    • Jessica Rose June 13, 2011 at 8:37 am #

      I’m sure a lot of people our age are in this boat… so hopefully in a few years we’ll figure it out. Or just win the lottery. ha

Leave a Reply

