No excuses

8 Jun

First of all, I’m pumped that I figured out how to make this blog look a little nicer / cleaner / more personal 🙂 Small technological feats are a huge step for me. PS – the banner picture is from the peak of Haleakala, an inactive volcano on Maui. Take me back.

Second of all, I was 100% ready to wake up early this morning and go for a nice swim… until my alarm went off. Honestly, I need someone to physically toss me out of bed and force me to get up in the mornings. I will hit snooze at least 47 times. It’s pathetic. Needless to say, swimming didn’t happen this morning.

Moving on. Apparently a heat wave has taken over Philadelphia for the remainder of the week… 97 today, 99 tomorrow, 90-something Friday. Can I say that my office is still FREEZING? I’m seriously wearing a jacket right now. Grrr. Who sets the temperature in here?

Tuesday’s Workout:

6 mile run. (54:04, 9:00min/mile pace)

As usual, I try to reserve Tuesdays for running. It was fairly hot yesterday (87ish), but I was determined to get in 6 miles.  After my feel-good post about running fast last week, I figured I wouldn’t have a hard time running the 6 miles at about an 8:30 pace. Ha. Ha. That wasn’t happening. I ran the first 2 miles at an 8:30 pace… and then I felt like my legs weighed 2034234523 pounds and that the sun was going to melt me. Awesome. I wanted to finish under 54 minutes so bad. I seriously SPRINTED the last .15 miles just so I could finish in time, but alas, I was about 4 seconds too slow. Awesome. Next time I’ll crush it. Booya.

Theories on why running sucked yesterday:

  • It was 87 and humid (No excuses, play like a champion)
  • I didn’t drink nearly enough water throughout the day (I should be drinking water right now)
  • I haven’t had a rest day for my poor little legs in a week (Rest day = this weekend)
  • I need more protein in my diet (Chobani yogurt for lunch :))
  • I need to up my mileage (new goal for the month)
  • I need to stretch after every run so I’m not so sore for future work-outs! (I stretched last night)
Well after that devastating run, I had a delightful, summer-y dinner. I think I’ll just start putting lemon juice on everything until summer is over. I don’t normally like pasta because it’s just a bunch of calories that lack any kind of nutritional value – but for some reason, I was in the mood – so cue tri-colored pasta with white wine vinegar, lemon juice, and garlic – topped with salmon cooked with the same flavors. Add in a little side salad and you have yourself a happy little summer meal.
And for those of you who think I’m just 100% healthy all the time, let it be noted that me & my bag of double chocolate Milano cookies had a date while I stretched. Chyeah.
4 Responses to “No excuses”

  1. The Sometimes Healthy Girl June 8, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Love your blog! Good for you for running in this heat. It definitely makes having a good run a little harder….come on, it’s KIND OF a good excuse 😉 But I love your no excuses attitude. Way to be!

    • Jessica Rose June 9, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      Thanks! I love yours too 🙂 And 87 is kind of an excuse, but today’s 100 degree heat = definite excuse not to do any kind of outdoor workout ha

  2. Tara June 8, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Stretching after every run is crucial for me.. otherwise I’m cursing with every step I take for the rest of the day. I can’t believe you managed to run 6 miles in that heat! The temperature makes the run seem to last forever..

    • Jessica Rose June 9, 2011 at 8:32 am #

      Well.. I made 6 miles but it certainly wasn’t pretty. ha And I really do hope to incorporate stretching back into my routine – it makes such a huge difference, you’re right!

Leave a Reply

