Cooking for Two

7 Jun

And by cooking for two… I mean cooking for one x2. Quick re-cap of our standard dinner routine. Steve asks me what I want. I respond with some non-meat product. Steve claims I don’t eat anything other than “rabbit food”. I ask Steve what he wants. He responds with some kind of meat. I call him a carnivore. And then we ultimately end up cooking two totally separate meals. This wouldn’t be a big deal except that we don’t exactly have what you would call a large kitchen. (Note for my future home: Double oven and a stove with at least 6 burners) Good times.

Last night though – we reached a semi-compromise! Score. We made home-made pizza. (And by home-made, I mean we bought pre-made crust, and pre-made sauce and just threw it together…) Anyways – the only differences were in our toppings – which is a lot easier to prepare than two different meals that need different oven settings. Steve’s side: pretty standard with mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, green peppers, onions, and mushrooms. My side: Blue cheese, green peppers, onions, mushrooms. Perfect.

Random fact: I HATE melted cheese. It creeps me right the ef out. I don’t like that it’s stringy – how are you supposed to eat it when it never breaks and its just this huge long string of goo!? It reminds me of having a really bad sinus infection where you have a lot of mucus that is stringy like that. (TMI, maybe?) Anyways – this is why I can’t have “normal” cheese on my pizza. Creepin’ me out.

Delicious.

Conclusion: Awesome dinner.

Monday’s Workout:

As usual, Mondays mean spinning and lifting. I always try to lift on days that I spin / bike because otherwise, I would get zero upper body work done. It’s never anything terribly structured or planned – just different exercises that keep these guns of mine lookin’ good šŸ˜‰ I get in some bicep curls, tricep dips, bench pressing, rowing, lateral pull-downs, and maybe some shoulder presses if I have time. I can try to be more specific if anyone’s interested… but really, I just try to work a variety of my upper body muscles before hopping on the bike.

Spinning

  • Warm-up
  • 2x [2 min seated, 2 min hover, 2 min jumps, 2 min sprint (broken up into 1 min sprint, 30 sec stand, 1 min sprint)]
  • 1 min seated, 30 sec stand, 1:30 seated, 30 sec jumps, 2:00 seated, 30 sec sprint
  • 1 min hover, 30 sec stand, 1:30 hover, 30 sec jumps, 2:00 hover, 30 sec sprint
  • Intervals: first round at 45 sec, second round at 1 min. [Sprint, Seated, Standing, Hover, Jumps]
  • Cool down and stretch
I really need to start stretching more… I used to be adamant about stretching and now I’m just becoming lazy. But now my legs hurt and they’d probably hurt a lot less if I had only taken like 5 minutes out of my time to stretch.
Alright – onto another [super stressful] day at work… followed by a long, stress-relievingĀ run. Ciao!
2 Responses to “Cooking for Two”

  1. Tara June 7, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    You gotta show Steve that rabbit food is delicious and that the food doesn’t NEED meat to be good. Pizza was definitely a good idea because it can easily be made healthy, it’s familiar, and doesn’t require meat! Maybe you should try making a healthy homemade crust! I’ve also heard Trader Joes makes a really good premade whole wheat one.

    • Jessica Rose June 7, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      I love your enthusiasm! Steve does enjoy some of my so-called rabbit food… he just likes it better with a side of meat. But that’s okay, a happy husband is a good thing! And I would love to try my hand at a healthy home-made dough! Perhaps some weekend when I have more than 5 minutes to cook šŸ˜¦ Do you have any good recipes??

Leave a Reply

