Cycling and Chobani

6 Jun

Until I started dabbling in this little world of healthy living blogs, I had never even heard of Chobani yogurt. In my opinion, yogurt was yogurt – how different could they really be? Especially when I can buy 3 Wegman’s brand yogurts for the price of 1 Chobani yogurt… I can’t say I was 100% on-board to switching over to some over-priced, over-advertised yogurt. But I felt like trying this yogurt had to be some sort of initiation into the blog world, so I sucked it up and bought some.

First of all, let me say that Chobani yogurt is totally different than any yogurt I’ve ever had. It’s so different that I don’t think I can eat normal yogurt again. (Or maybe Chobani puts crack in their yogurt so you keep going back for more and more of their ridiculously priced yogurts?) Grrr. I’m going to try to rationalize spending an inordinate amount of money on yogurt by pointing out that it actually does have 2-3x more protein than most normal yogurts – and I could use some extra protein in my life.

With that said, I definitely bought a whole bunch of new flavors on my latest grocery shopping trip – notably the pomegranate flavor. I love everything pomegranate flavored… until now. Ew Ew Ew. Never again will I buy this flavor. It had SEEDS in the bottom. Do I look like I want seeds in my yogurt? I didn’t know what the devil to do with them. Do you eat them? Do you spit them out like watermelon seeds? I don’t know. I ended up spitting all of them out and it totally took away from the yogurt. Disgusting. Never again. I’ll stick to normal flavors.

At least Mogli seemed to enjoy it…

Onto my Sunday [Funday] workout.

Thank god spin class isn’t until noon on Sundays because I managed to sleep until 10am. Win. I headed out to spin class and managed 17 miles on the bike consisting of a “Hill” workout.

  • Warm-up
  • 10 minute hill (increase resistance every 2 min) + 2 min stand + 1 min seated fast + 2 min hover
  • 8 minute hill (increase resistance every 2 min) + 2 min hover + 1 min seated fast + 2 min stand
  • 6 minute hill (you get the idea)
  • 4 minute hill (again…)
  • 5 minutes of intervals including Sprint – Stand – Hover – Rest
  • Finish it all off with a 1 minute spring
  • Cool-down
Afterwards, I was still feeling ambitious and really wanted to bike outside – partly because it was beautiful outside – and partly because I never ride my bike outside because roads scare me… I need to get over this fear. So I went on a nice 14-mile ride with my spin instructor. Always better to bike with a friend… especially one who has the equipment to fix a flat if the occasion arises. (Luckily, it didn’t)

Struble Trail

Total mileage for the day: 31 miles.

Back at home, Steve and I threw around a football, enjoyed a few local beers and had a relaxing evening. All around win.

Victory Whirlwind - highly recommended

2 Responses to “Cycling and Chobani”

  1. Tara June 6, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I love the mango, pineapple, and strawberry banana chobani yogurts. They don’t have seeds, so you should definitely give them a try if you haven’t already! The pineapple and strawberry banana flavor are 2% so they are super creamy and delicious.

    • Jessica Rose June 6, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      Good timing! I just had the pineapple flavor today with my lunch. Much better – I’ll have to buy the strawberry banana flavor next time around. I’m hooked.

Leave a Reply

