3rd Overall Female

5 Jun

The weather this weekend just made me want to be outside and stay outside as much as possible. I think I succeeded.

Saturday was Jesse’s Run 5K – It was put on by my YMCA, so it was a smaller, local race that supported a good cause – so that’s always good!

Pre-Race Photos:

Prepared for the race obviously.

Ready to go

Like I said, the race was local – so I had ideas on what the course might be… I was thinking a fairly flat course with some rolling hills… Fail. This course was challenging to say the least. The race started uphill and had A LOT of rolling hills, including a killer hill at mile marker 2. Right off the bat, two females passed me on the first hill – and I was okay with the one because I know runs XC for a local college. I eventually became okay with the other woman passing me because she ended up running the race in about 20 minutes – so good for her! But after those two – I was determined to hold my position in 3rd. I passed the 1st mile marker at 7:45… not exactly as fast as I had hoped, but like I said – the course started off with a huge hill. By the 2nd mile (huge hill) my legs were dying. Maybe my whole idea of training really fast 2 days before the race wasn’t the best timing? Anyways – some little kid, who looked about 10, passed me on that hill. Really? Really!?! Whatever, he only has to carry like 70 pounds up that hill. I double that. (Don’t judge my rationality). Aside from my little friend, I ran the majority of the race alone – with a large (quick) pack ahead of me and another large (slower) pack behind me, so that was rather depressing. Especially since I don’t like racing with my iPod. Oh well. I pulled through.

I finished the race in 24:44 (7:57 min/mile) and held onto my position as the 3rd overall female 🙂

Finished.

I’d also like to point out that I run in my $3 tank tops from Forever 21 and I don’t have any fancy iPod / Running gear… I ALWAYS get intimidated at races with these girls who look like they’ve stepped out of a flippin Nike ad – but then I always crush them 😉 So keep on spending money on your fancy ass running gear while I beat you in my cheap, lame, cotton tank tops. ThankYouVeryMuch.

I love the area where this race took place. Some pretty flowers, some pretty fountains, and even a DJ for good measure. Good times.

Post-Race meal:

Wrap with Sweet Pepper Humus, Guac, Cherry Tomatoes, Blue Cheese, and Grilled Tempeh. Ballin.

I think I’m going to save my re-cap of today’s biking festivities for tomorrow. See you there.

Question: Do you get intimidated by people in fancy race gear!?!

2 Responses to “3rd Overall Female”

  1. April @AdventureApril June 5, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Way to go on 3rd! That’s excellent, especially considering it was a much tougher course than expected.

    I was once intimidated, but as long as I have comfy sneakers on, I feel like what you wear doesn’t matter as much as how you wear it.

    (A runner clad in clunky, neon orange, blast-from-the-past vest in winter? That would be me.)

    • Jessica Rose June 6, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      haha I would love to see your race get-up in person. I’m sure you wear that neon orange vest with pride!

Leave a Reply

