Early Swim

25 May

I love working from home – not just because I save myself a 2-hour commute and 70-miles worth of gas… but because it gives me time to work-out in the morning ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday, I left the house around 6:45am and went off to the gym to fit in some swimming. I can’t wait for school to be out ย since my gym is next door to a high school and I always get stuck in school zones / school traffic / blah. Anyways – when I finally got to the pool… it was crazy crowded! There were already 2 people in every lane and even some stragglers swimming in the open lanes. What to do? I made up my own lane.

My Swim Work-Out:

  • WarmUp: 2 x 500 (1st 500 – easy; 2nd 500 – 150 easy, 200 IM, 150 easy)
  • 5 x 200 Pull on 3:00
  • 10 x 100 Swim on 1:30 (1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10: Swim; ย 3,6,9: IM)
  • 400 Kick w/ Board (Switch up strokes)
  • 100 Easy
  • Total: ย 3500 yards

Advantages of Pulling:

I never enjoyed pulling in high school. All my strength was in my legs – so taking away kicking took away all of my speed. But for triathletes, this is actually a good thing. Since the bike and run will obviously take a toll on your legs, it’s better to build up upper body strength so you don’t have to rely heavily on kicking to get you through the swim.

Even for non-triathletes, pulling can help get you sexy Michelle Obama-esque arms ๐Ÿ˜‰

Michelle Obama's amazing arms

At least, that’s what I’m hoping. All politics aside, the woman has amazing arms.

Since my breakfast was pretty boring (milk & cereal) – I’ll skip right to lunch when I enjoyed a salad with all of my favorite toppings ๐Ÿ™‚

Romaine lettuce – Spinach – Craisins – Sliced Almonds – Blue Cheese Crumbles – Tuna – Cherry Tomatoes – and Wegman’s amazing Basil Vinegarette dressing. The perfect salad.

Good workout – Good lunch – Good day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

