Why I Don’t Read Your Blog

28 Jul

Since I’ve been blogging for right around 2 months now (Crazy!) I decided I’d give some criticism & open myself to some criticism as well. I know plenty of other bloggers have given advice on what to include / not to include in order to increase readership, but let’s face it, I’m not on here to make a living off of blogging, and I’m certainly not looking to get over 100+ comments on any given post. With that said, I also find that I don’t necessarily enjoy reading blogs that have 100+ comments and thousands of loyal fans. I like the small bloggers, just like me!

I actually can’t understand why some of the most popular healthy living blogs out there have such a steady readership. I find a lot of those blogs to be so routine, so boring, so uninteresting. With that said, I’ve come up with a few reasons that I don’t follow certain blogs. Obviously, this is my own personal opinion – so if you don’t agree, I won’t be offended.

Reasons I Don’t Read Your Blog

  1. I don’t want to know every single thing you ate today. You had 6 almonds and 10 grapes for a snack at 3:17pm today? I don’t care. First of all, who counts their almonds? Secondly, how much free time do you have to actually get online and tell me about it?
  2. You have too much free time. I think the point of blogging is to belong to a community of like-minded individuals. Unfortunately, there’s not much similarity between me (working 8 hours & commuting 2 hours a day) and someone who blogs “full-time”. I’m struggling to balance working out, eating healthy, and working – I don’t have all day to work out, cook delicious meals, and blog about it like some people out there.
  3. All you do is talk about yourself. Obviously, you have a blog to share your life & opinions with the world – but bring up some interesting points please. Give me a reason to comment and start a discussion. Don’t just give me a run-down of your day. Give me something to think about!
  4. You’re too nice. Give me some sarcasm, some anger, some controversy. If you’re all sunshine & rainbows all the time, I don’t believe you. Sometimes I get pissed off – and I’ll actually use the words “pissed off” – that’s okay. I curse like a sailor and I don’t feel like transforming into this perfect goody-two-shoes in the blog world.
  5. You post too many recipes. Sure, I like to try new foods – but I don’t want the recipe to everything you’ve ever made. Save recipes for when you make an amazing meal that you just have to share with the world! I want to get to know YOU – not your pantry.
  6. Your blog is ugly. If I come to your page & there’s 9 million ads and crazy things going on and it’s hard for me to actually find what you’re saying, I’m out. I admit that I struggle with making my blog “pretty” because I’m technologically challenged. (Help me?)
  7. Your pictures are too pretty. I don’t understand why people set up photo shoots for their food. Honestly, they pick the backdrop, place-mat, lighting, and make this huge production out of taking one picture of their lunch. Really!? I don’t have an extra 30 minutes to set up a food photo shoot. Doesn’t it get cold by the time you eat it? If you’re guilty here, refer to reason #2 why I don’t read your blog.
  8. All you talk about is pregnancy & babies. Sure, I’m thrilled that you’re a new mommy – but seriously, I don’t want to hear about the new organic baby diapers you found. This is probably because I’m not at that point in my life [As I mentioned here...] and pretty much can’t relate to your hormonal life changes.
  9. You don’t work-out. I started this blog because of my love of all things fitness. If you don’t share that passion, then it’s going to be harder for us to relate to each other.
Obviously, this is my own personal preference. I realize that some blogs exist solely to give recipes or solely to track their pregnancy – and that’s fine! I’m just not drawn to those particular blogs. I’m interested to hear what some of you look for in blogs too – so comment away.

What would you like to see more / less of on my blog?


What are some reasons you don’t read certain blogs?¬†
9 Responses to “Why I Don’t Read Your Blog”

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) July 28, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I have to say that I agree with a lot of this! Especially #1. That can get to me after awhile.

    I really enjoy your blog!! :) I can’t think of anything I’d change, because you do a nice mix of healthy living and real life. I like posts that showcase the blogger, not just their workouts/food. I don’t like to read certain blogs that just become SO boring and predictable that I could pretty much write the post myself.

    • Jessica Rose July 28, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      Ha I’m glad you agree on #1… it’s so annoying & yet a lot of people obviously enjoy reading blogs like that. So weird. I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog, since you were my inspiration & all :)

  2. In Sweetness and In Health July 28, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    I love your honesty! I really think that you are doing an awesome job with your blog! I love everything that I’ve seen so far :). One thing I don’t like about some blogs is that they never post anything different- it’s always the same ideas or same daily occurrences over and over again.

  3. In Sweetness and In Health July 28, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Oh and btw, I added you to my blog roll :). Love you!

    • Jessica Rose July 28, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

      Aw Thanks so much :) I’ve been meaning to update mine – and you’ll obviously be part of my updated list. I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog – I enjoy how pretty yours is to look at (in addition to your actual posts of course), I need to take a lesson from you!

  4. Life After Swimming July 29, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Well considering your blog was the reason I got into blogging in the first place, I am going to have to say I enjoy it. I love hearing about your life since I never see you anymore :( except the random time at the track but we were both too dedicated to our workouts! :) And I totally agree with everything you said about annoying blogs. I don’t understand the photo shoot of food!

    • Jessica Rose July 29, 2011 at 10:15 am #

      I’m glad my blog persuaded you to start your own! yay! Even though yours is so much prettier than mine already – why am I so technologically illiterate!?! ugh. And next time we randomly see each other at the track, we’ll have to stop and catch up instead of running around like crazy people. ha

  5. Jury Vallejo September 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I just discovered your blog while searching for SheROX info. I absolutely love this post!! so freaking true. :) #7 I tried and FAILED, takes way too much time and who cares? lol

  6. Carl@ posture correction September 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    I like your honesty on this, I do agree on some of your points here, specially #1, it’s a bit annoying why some people keep doing it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

